Boards and Committees banner graphic

Amherst Community Diversity Commission


amherst community diversity commission holiday display
The Town of Amherst Diversity Commission Holiday 2018 Exhibit at the Audubon Public Library, Amherst (on display for the month of December, 2018).

amherst community diversity commission holiday display. pictured are Brian Steinberg and Jodi Lee Kwarta, Commission Members, with Councilmember/Commission Liaison Deborah Bruch Bucki in the middle
Members of the Amherst Community Diversity Commission with Exhibit at  Audubon Public Library, Amherst From Left: Brian C. Steinberg, Khalid J. Qazi (Chairman), Akruti Shastri, Dilip K. Sinha, Heidi N. Lefebvre, Helaine Sanders, Deborah B. Bucki (Liaison Councilmember) and Mireille Schapiro.

Mission Statement

The purpose of this Commission is to enhance and increase cooperation, understanding, and dialogue among residents of diverse cultural, religious, socio-economic and racial backgrounds, and to promote inclusion throughout the town. Some of the responsibilities of the coalition will be to study the demographics of Amherst; promote town-wide events that foster cultural awareness; increase minority participation on governmental boards and committees and in the Town's workplace; and to facilitate meetings designed to promote a better understanding of who Amherst is as a community.

Supplemental Information

Disclosure Information


Deborah Bruch Bucki RN, PhD, Councilmember


Khalid J. Qazi, M.D., MACP (C)  term expires  12/31/2021

Dr. Mohan Devgun (M)  term expires  12/31/2021

Nayury  Farber (M)  term expires  12/31/2023

Heidi Nicklaus Lefebvre (M)  term expires  12/31/2020

Thomas Lucia (M)  term expires  12/31/2023

Anne Rohrer (M)  term expires  12/31/2023

Helaine Sanders (M)  term expires  12/31/2023

Dr. Joseph Sankoh (M)  term expires  12/31/2023

Dilip Sinha (M)  term expires  12/31/2021

Brian C.  Steinberg (M)  term expires  12/31/2021


(C) Chairperson
(CC) Co-Chairperson
(M) Member
(O) Resource Person
(S) Secretary
(V) Vice Chairperson

Meeting Location

Amherst Municipal Building
5583 Main St, Williamsville, NY

To verify, please call (716) 631-7013.

Meeting Dates

There are no scheduled meeting dates on this website for the Amherst Community Diversity Commission

About Amherst

The Town of Amherst was established in 1818 and celebrated its 200th Anniversary in 2018. The town has a geographical area of 53.6 square miles and a population of greater than 122,000.

Disclaimer, Copyright and Maintenance
How to use our site

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)

The Town of Amherst ADA Coordinators are Robert McCarthy (Director of Human Resources) and Mark Berke (Commissioner of Buildings).

Click for more information about ADA.

Website Contact

The Town of Amherst takes great pride in providing useful, timely and accurate information through its official website. We encourage public participation in our website and ask that you provide your feedback to help us make our site even better. Contact the website administrator at

Get in Touch

  • General Information:
    (716) 631-7000
  • Email:
  • Address:
    Municipal Building (Town Hall)
  • 5583 Main Street
  • Williamsville, NY 14221